University and TAFE / VET entry

Students who complete the NTCET are eligible for university entry, provided they meet certain requirements.

For university entry, students need to:

  • complete all compulsory requirements at a ‘C’ grade or better
  • achieve 90 credits at Stage 2 ie four (4) 20 credit and one (1) 10 credit subjects. These subjects must be Tertiary Admissions Subjects (TAS).

Universities also specify prerequisite subjects for some of their courses. It is essential students and parents clarify with Universities directly the requirements they have for subjects and subject combinations. This information should be used when selecting subjects at Stage 1 and Stage 2.

Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR)

At Good Shepherd Lutheran College the university aggregate will be calculated from the best scaled scores from four 20 credit TAS and one 10 credit TAS. The university aggregate is then converted to an ATAR. Please visit for more detailed information.

Tertiary Admissions Subject (TAS)

All subjects apart from Community Studies and modified subjects are recognised by universities to contribute toward an ATAR. These subjects are known as Tertiary Admissions Subjects. A completed Certificate III VET Qualification also contributes towards the ATAR.


To combine scores from a wide variety of different subjects to form an aggregate, it must be ensured that the scores are on a common scale. Scaling is the process used to convert scores to a common scale.

Interstate and overseas students

SACE Board will grant status for equivalent learning in recognised areas for interstate and overseas students.

Students Online

Students Online is a one-stop-shop for information about an individual student’s NTCET. It can help students:

  • plan their NTCET and look at different subjects, or subject and course combinations
  • check their progress towards completing their NTCET
  • access their results

Students can log in to Students Online using their SACE registration number and pin at:

Tertiary Admissions Information for Year 12 Students

SA and NT – South Australia Tertiary Admissions Centre (SATAC)

QLD – Queensland Tertiary Admissions Centre (QTAC)

VIC – Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre (VTAC)

TAS – University of Tasmania (UTAS)

NSW and ACT – Universities Admissions Centre (UAC)

South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE)

Beyond School Study Guide

My Future